VW Scirocco R or Ford Focus RS?

Image  21 of 30 Frankfurt 2009 Volkswagen Golf and Scirocco RVolkswagen has just announced prices for its range-topping Scirocco R model with the hot hatch costing from £26,945.

This makes it £50 cheaper than the Ford Focus RS.

I’m yet to drive the Scirocco R but I have driven the Focus and it’s one hell of a car; it’s rapid and handles superbly despite sending 300bhp through the front wheels.

While the Scirocco R doesn’t have the outright performance figures of the Focus RS, one thing it does have is class.

People either want to race you or turn their noses up at you when you’re in the RS – it’s the fast Ford way.

Image  17 of 40 The Ford Focus RS

You don’t get this when you’re behind the wheel of the Scirocco and on paper there’s not much difference between the two:

Scirocco R Focus RS
Price £26,945 £26,995
Engine 2-litre turbo 2.5-litre turbo
Power 260bhp 300bhp
0-62mph 6.0 secs 5.9 secs
Top speed 155mph 163mph
Fuel economy 33.2mpg 30.1mpg

Having seen both the Scirocco and RS in the metal, the VW wins my vote but I won’t be able to give a full verdict until I’ve driven them back-to-back.

Chuck in the new Renault Megane Renaultsport 250 and the VW Golf R and you we’ve got a mouth-watering group test.

Adrian Hearn

Read Auto Trader Reviews

Used Volkswagen Scirocco review

Used Ford Focus RS review

4 Comments

Filed under Ford, Hot hatch, Volkswagon

4 responses to “VW Scirocco R or Ford Focus RS?

  1. Hey! I just wanted to ask if you ever have any problems with hackers? My last blog (wordpress) was hacked and I ended up losing a few months of hard work due to no back up. Do you have any solutions to stop hackers?

  2. hello! I just mused to myself whether you had looked at selling advertising on your website.I’m guessing you could do allright out of it.

  3. mark

    what about scooby eats focus rs and scirocco alive trust me i no sti 330s owner

  4. Surendra Sitarahmanchandrabose

    I like my balls big and hairy – give me the Focus RS any day.

Have your say, leave a comment...

